Posted in Fantasy, Fiction, Fiction, Intermediate, Middle Grade, Uncategorized

LEGO DC Superheroes: Justice League Vs. Bizarro League!

justice leagueJustice League vs. Bizarro League (LEGO DC Super Heroes: Chapter Book #1), by JE Bright (Aug. 2015, Scholastic), $4.99, ISBN: 9780545867986

Recommended for ages 7-10

These new LEGO chapter books from Scholastic are great! First, we had the LEGO Elves, now we’ve got LEGO DC Superheroes. The kids in my libraries are going to lose their minds; when I started bringing in the Capstone chapter books, they flew off my shelves. Now, combining superheroes and LEGO? I will be doubling up on these in my book order for sure!

In this first DC Super Heroes chapter book, Bizarro’s home planet, Bizarro World, is under threat from Darkseid. He seeks out the Justice League for help, and creates his own “Bizarro League” of superheroes just like himself! The writing is light, fast-paced, and funny, and the characters are LEGO characters, with mentions of blocks and building throughout, so kids will know that they’re enjoying a LEGO adventure. There’s full-color art for the kids to enjoy, and if you’re feeling particularly generous, there’s also a companion DVD.

 

Author:

I'm a mom, a children's librarian, bibliophile, and obsessive knitter. I'm a pop culture junkie and a proud nerd, and favorite reads usually fall into Sci-Fi/Fantasy. I review comics and graphic novels at WhatchaReading (http://whatchareading.com). I'm also the co-founder of On Wednesdays We Wear Capes (http://www.onwednesdays.net/), where I discuss pop culture and geek fandom from a female point of view.

Leave a comment