Posted in Uncategorized

Operation 451

451

We live in interesting times, to paraphrase the Chinese curse. We’re in an age of fake news, an adversarial relationship between elected officials and the media, and attacks on our right to free speech. Sarah Houghton, whose Librarian in Black blog I’ve followed for several years now, and Andy Woodworth, of the Agnostic, Maybe blog, have joined forces to bring us Operation 451 (a nice reference to Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451). Operation 451 directly opposes intolerance and ignorance and is here to remind librarians of our values, our Bill of Rights, the Five Laws of Library Science, and the First Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.

This year, I’m adding my voice to the dialogue. I’m taking part in 451 and promise to keep working at advocacy for the right to read, increasing information access for my patrons – and helping them learn the difference between valid and “fake” information sources, and working to keep my library a safe space for everyone. Period.

This will always be a book review/reader’s advisory blog, because that’s what I created this site for. I hope to make it more of an active library site, too; I hope to talk about more of my programs, conferences I attend, and my advocacy. Please stick around for the voyage.

Author:

I'm a mom, a children's librarian, bibliophile, and obsessive knitter. I'm a pop culture junkie and a proud nerd, and favorite reads usually fall into Sci-Fi/Fantasy. I review comics and graphic novels at WhatchaReading (http://whatchareading.com). I'm also the co-founder of On Wednesdays We Wear Capes (http://www.onwednesdays.net/), where I discuss pop culture and geek fandom from a female point of view.

Leave a Reply

