Posted in Uncategorized

May the Fourth Be With You

I’m starting to plan my May the 4th activities for the kidlings here at the library, and I am PSYCHED. I just got the go-ahead to request a visit from the Saber League, so fingers are crossed. Now, I need stuff for the kids to do. This post has some brilliant ideas, including the Death Star Maze. I’m excitedly twiddling my hands ala Mr. Burns…

the outreach librarian

You have a week to plan a Star Wars-themed event for your library. Whether you run a college, public, or school library, I feel pretty certain that your patrons would appreciate such an event. And it does not have to take a ton of work to make it special. You’re welcome!

That’s worth a buck.

Making it real: Find your local 501st Legion, an all-volunteer organization of awesome folks who dress up as Imperial Army crew (including Stormtroopers, Jawas, and Vader himself.) They are the preferred costuming group of Lucasfilms when Stormtroopers are needed for events. They LOVE doing community service and you can request an appearance. Plus, since they do this all of the time they are sources for what works and what does not.

Don’t forget the Rebels! See if your area has a Rebel Legion, recognized by Lucasfilms as a premier volunteering and costuming group. They might be…

View original post 572 more words

Author:

I'm a mom, a children's librarian, bibliophile, and obsessive knitter. I'm a pop culture junkie and a proud nerd, and favorite reads usually fall into Sci-Fi/Fantasy. I review comics and graphic novels at WhatchaReading (http://whatchareading.com). I'm also the co-founder of On Wednesdays We Wear Capes (http://www.onwednesdays.net/), where I discuss pop culture and geek fandom from a female point of view.

Leave a Reply

