Posted in Uncategorized

Everyday Advocacy Challenge: I’m IN!

I’m excited to be part of the ALSC’s Spring 2016 Everyday Advocacy Challenge! Over the next few weeks, I will:

Commit to completing four consecutive Take Action Tuesday challenges on advocacy topics/themes;

Collaborate with EAC cohort members over the four-week period, sharing successes and troubleshooting issues via ALA Connect;

Write a post for the ALSC blog about their EAC experiences; and

Contribute a reflection for the April 2016 issue of the Everyday Advocacy Matters e-newsletter.

everyday-advocacy

I’ve been spending the first six months of my full-time librarianship getting my sea legs, learning about my new community, and acclimating to full-time public library work, including storytimes and programs for infants, toddlers, school-age kids, tweens and teens – the whole range! This year, I’ve made it a priority to get involved with the profession; really dig in – and the Everyday Advocacy Challenge offers a great chance to do that. I’ll be journaling here, in addition to anything I write for the ALSC, about the Challenge, so please follow along and chime in with any questions or anecdotes you’d like to share.

 

 

 

Author:

I'm a mom, a children's librarian, bibliophile, and obsessive knitter. I'm a pop culture junkie and a proud nerd, and favorite reads usually fall into Sci-Fi/Fantasy. I review comics and graphic novels at WhatchaReading (http://whatchareading.com). I'm also the co-founder of On Wednesdays We Wear Capes (http://www.onwednesdays.net/), where I discuss pop culture and geek fandom from a female point of view.

Leave a Reply

