Posted in Preschool Reads

Akashic’s What is Punk: Music History for kids and parents!

what is punkWhat is Punk? by Eric Morse, illus. by Anny Yi (Oct. 2015, Akashic), $15.95, ISBN: 9781617753923

Recommended for ages 3+

One of my proudest moments as a parent was when my husband and I would drive our then 7 and 3 year-old sons around, blaring The Ramones, and hearing them yell “Hey! Ho! Let’s go!” from their car seats. For every grownup who has children in their lives that need to know the awesomeness that is the punk movement, What is Punk? is for you.

Written in rhyme similar in meter to a Dr. Seuss story, What is Punk? tells the story of a movement: the beginnings, the bands, the public reactions – it’s all here, brought to beautiful life through artist Anny Yi’s clay figures. CBGB’s is there, as is The Clash, and The Ramones. The Sex Pistols, The New York Dolls, Blondie – all these and more are here, waiting for you and the kids in your life to discover them. Read this to the kids – the soothing cadence of the rhyme and the fun pictures will keep their attention. Then, throw a dance party with some favorites like Blitzkrieg Bop, Atomic, and Should I Stay or Should I Go. Let them jump, let them yell, let them whoop!

What is Punk? is a great novelty gift for the punk in your life, and it’s a great gift for a new parent who may feel a little overwhelmed by nursery rhymes and Disney Jr. I can’t wait to see the parents’ faces when I bust this one out in my storytime group. The book will be out in October, and is part of Akashic’s new Black Sheep Kids/YA imprint. In the meantime, to whet your appetite a bit, check out some of the artwork:

what is punk_1

what is punk_2

what is punk_3

what is punk_4

Author:

I'm a mom, a children's librarian, bibliophile, and obsessive knitter. I'm a pop culture junkie and a proud nerd, and favorite reads usually fall into Sci-Fi/Fantasy. I review comics and graphic novels at WhatchaReading (http://whatchareading.com). I'm also the co-founder of On Wednesdays We Wear Capes (http://www.onwednesdays.net/), where I discuss pop culture and geek fandom from a female point of view.

Leave a Reply

