Posted in Non-Fiction

Meh helps kids understand depression.

I just came across an article about Meh, a wordless picture book written and illustrated by Deborah Malcolm, as away of helping children understand depression and mental health.

meh

Inspired by Neil Gaiman’s unconventional storytelling, Malcolm decided to use visual metaphor and symbolic imagery to explain – and leave open to others – what depression feels like. Depression is subjective, depending on the sufferer and how others experience the feeling, and allowing children and adults to arrive at their own interpretations should help create a deeper connection and understanding.

Says Malcolm, “Meh was designed to be completely wordless so that the reader can come to their own conclusion of what they think depression is. It is different for everyone. It is also a tool for parents, guardians and teachers to use to teach children about mental health. I hope it will engage them in discussion about mental illnesses so that they might have a better chance of tackling them in the future and reduce the stigma surrounding it.”

Amazon has a “Look Inside” glimpse available for Meh, and the art is quite evocative. I’m interested in picking up a few copies for my libraries and seeing if these will circulate. Having suffered post-partum depression in the past, I’d have loved to have had a copy of this available to my older children to help them grasp what was going on in our home at the time. Good luck to Ms. Malcolm on this one, and thank you.

Author:

I'm a mom, a children's librarian, bibliophile, and obsessive knitter. I'm a pop culture junkie and a proud nerd, and favorite reads usually fall into Sci-Fi/Fantasy. I review comics and graphic novels at WhatchaReading (http://whatchareading.com). I'm also the co-founder of On Wednesdays We Wear Capes (http://www.onwednesdays.net/), where I discuss pop culture and geek fandom from a female point of view.

3 thoughts on “Meh helps kids understand depression.

    1. I’m very interested in this book; I just saw the article this morning and really need to get a copy. I agree, having some help explaining difficult concepts and ideas to kids, especially in an empathetic way, is so important and helpful.

Leave a Reply

