Posted in Uncategorized

DIY@Your Library for Teens: Make Your Own GIFs

This is such a great idea! I’m going to try and get this program up and running for the teens at my library; I’ll be practicing for a few weeks to get it down – I’ll post any good ones I make.

hushlander

Tired of my frantic posting rate yet? Well, have no fear, as this is my last programming post before I’m all caught up.

My library has one full-service location, and one mini location that is located in what used to be a classroom in a community center. The community center has some positives (on a different side of town than the main library, three different sized programming spaces, a Makerspace!) and some downsides (not a lot of foot traffic, sometimes the spaces are hard to book, it can be echo-y, and the building is pretty strange from a facilities standpoint).

Maaaaaybe

In an effort to add some teen programming and get some publicity for the Makerspace, I wanted to add some regular maker programming. The main problem with that is that, well, most people don’t really understand what Maker programming is, and teens probably aren’t going to haul themselves to another…

View original post 279 more words

Author:

I'm a mom, a children's librarian, bibliophile, and obsessive knitter. I'm a pop culture junkie and a proud nerd, and favorite reads usually fall into Sci-Fi/Fantasy. I review comics and graphic novels at WhatchaReading (http://whatchareading.com). I'm also the co-founder of On Wednesdays We Wear Capes (http://www.onwednesdays.net/), where I discuss pop culture and geek fandom from a female point of view.

Leave a Reply

