Posted in Uncategorized

Resolving to Rock in 2015!

I’ve been a huge fan of Storytime Katie’s blog since I was in library school. I love her storytime ideas, especially her Flannel Fridays posts, which have been a great source of professional development for me as I get my children’s librarian sea legs steady. Today, she’s given me a hand yet again, by introducing me to Storytime Underground and Resolve to Rock – talking about setting professional goals, and helping support fellow children’s services providers in their goals. So here I go.

resolve to rock

Having just discovered Storytime Underground, I resolve to register for their Storytime University training and apply it to my storytimes. A huge part of my Books for Kids work is wrapped up in storytimes, so this will be hugely helpful.

Seek out more resources on providing sensory-friendly storytimes. I need to work on reaching the special needs kids in my storytime classes. I used a few ideas from Storytime Katie in the past, and definitely saw a spark, so I need to incorporate more.

Get coding, and get my patrons coding! I’ve gotten through a few lessons on building a website, and the introduction to WordPress on my Treehouse account at Queens Library, so I need to make time and get through the training.

Up my picture book and nonfiction game. I read a lot of middle grade and YA fiction, but my RA skills in nonfiction and picture books could use some work.

Join a professional committee. I’m looking at ALSC and YALSA, and leaning toward ALSC because I work more with younger children. But I have to make a decision soon, and need to get involved.

Those are the big ones. 2014 was a good year for me personally and professionally, so I want to keep the momentum going! Good luck to everyone!

Author:

I'm a mom, a children's librarian, bibliophile, and obsessive knitter. I'm a pop culture junkie and a proud nerd, and favorite reads usually fall into Sci-Fi/Fantasy. I review comics and graphic novels at WhatchaReading (http://whatchareading.com). I'm also the co-founder of On Wednesdays We Wear Capes (http://www.onwednesdays.net/), where I discuss pop culture and geek fandom from a female point of view.

Leave a Reply

