Posted in Fiction, Young Adult/New Adult

Kami Garcia does it again with Unbreakable

unbreakableUnbreakable, by Kami Garcia (Nov. 2014, Little Brown Books for Young Readers) $18, ISBN: 9780316210171

I initially had some trepidation about whether or not I’d enjoy reading Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl’s Beautiful Creatures, having lumped it in with the sort of paranormal romance I really didn’t enjoy. I gladly ate those words, so I was thrilled when I had a copy of Kami Garcia’s Unbreakable show up on my Nook (thanks, NetGalley!).

Kennedy is a pretty ordinary teen until she comes home one night to discover her mom, dead. The doctors say heart attack, but it turns out to be something far creepier than that – a demon has it in for Kennedy, something she finds out from the two brothers that save her on the night before she’s supposed to head to boarding school under the care of her aunt.

No, the brothers aren’t Sam and Dean, fellow Supernatural fans, but MAN, do I love this book like I love a good Supernatural episode.  There are secret societies, demons, and families of demon hunters passed down through the generations to be found here. I love paranormal when it’s done well, and Kami Garcia seems to know all the right buttons to push. I’m a Supernatural fan, so I got into this book right away.

Don’t think for a minute that this is a rip-off of the CW show, though – there is a strong story here, with characters that you’ll love. Everyone is descended from a demon hunter, with their own strong story to tell. Kennedy is the main focus, because she’s the only one who hasn’t been privy to this information – something I hope we find more about as this series progresses.

There’s something for everyone here – a search that takes us through the story, good paranormal spookiness, a solid plot that promises to unfold and keep us informed and teased at the same time, strong, badass female characters, and a love triangle that doesn’t get too sappy (thank goodness).

I can’t wait to get Unbreakable on my library’s bookshelves, and I’ve already told the friends that I raved Beautiful Creatures to that they need this book. Go get it now!

Author:

I'm a mom, a children's librarian, bibliophile, and obsessive knitter. I'm a pop culture junkie and a proud nerd, and favorite reads usually fall into Sci-Fi/Fantasy. I review comics and graphic novels at WhatchaReading (http://whatchareading.com). I'm also the co-founder of On Wednesdays We Wear Capes (http://www.onwednesdays.net/), where I discuss pop culture and geek fandom from a female point of view.

Leave a Reply

