Posted in Graphic Novels

Guest Post from Chuck at WhatchaReading: Delilah Dirk and The Turkish Lieutenant – A Formidable Heroine in a Swashbuckling Adventure!

I am a big fan of graphic novels and comic books, and firmly believe they have a place in literacy and the classroom. My friend Chuck has a great comics and comic culture blog over at WhatchaReading, where you can also find my comic book reviews.  I realized the other day that we write up a lot of “all-ages” books – books that appeal to younger audiences, rather than teens and adults, as most titles tend to these days, and I’d like to bring some of those reviews to my readers here at MomReadIt. So you’ll be seeing more guest posts, and I’d love some feedback – so speak up!

And now, Chuck’s review for Delilah Dirk and the Turkish Lieutenant:

We’ve had the pleasure of reviewing a few books from :01 (First Second) and I’ve got to admit that this book has sat on my to review pile for a while. I started reading it months ago, finished it quickly and thought it was wonderful. Somehow the review never got started. How about we rectify that oversight immediately.

When I started the book this was literally all I had to go on; From author Tony Cliff: “Delilah Dirk is the heroine of a series of adventure comics set during the early 19th century. Each story is completely self-contained, and they’re suitable for readers of all ages!”

Read the rest over at WhatchaReading.com!

 

Author:

I'm a mom, a children's librarian, bibliophile, and obsessive knitter. I'm a pop culture junkie and a proud nerd, and favorite reads usually fall into Sci-Fi/Fantasy. I review comics and graphic novels at WhatchaReading (http://whatchareading.com). I'm also the co-founder of On Wednesdays We Wear Capes (http://www.onwednesdays.net/), where I discuss pop culture and geek fandom from a female point of view.

Leave a Reply

